Healthy Mind, Body & Spirit Campaign: Spring 2008

Okay, after much deliberation and prayer, I have decided to share with you what I have dubbed the “Healthy Mind, Body, & Spirit Campaign: Spring 2008”.

This is my 8-week game plan:

Spiritual Challenges:

  • Prayer at least 15 minutes daily (or as lead by the Spirit).  The best time is during the first portion of kids’ naptime.
  • Meditation at least 15 minutes daily (or as lead by the Spirit).  Again, the best time being during the first portion of kids’ naptime.
  • Reading minimum 1 chapter per day from the Bible.  I have started in Luke, will go to Acts, then through the rest of the New Testament.

Nutrition Challenges:

  • Absolutely no pop!  28g of sugar per can!  That’s insane.  There is no way that is good for me!
  • 6 glasses or more of water each day.
  • Salad or raw vegetables with lunch and dinner.  I am good in the fruit department.
  • Indulgent dessert once a week.

Fitness Challenges:

  • 30 minutes of walking each day, rain, shine, hurricane, tornado.  Get your butt out there.
  • Interval running, 2-3 days per week.  Starting with 1 minute running, 1 minute walking, each week adding a minute to running.
  • Be able to do 10 FULL push-ups in a row by the end of the 8 weeks.

Meditation is a new discipline for me; I have never done it before.  Interestingly enough, this Sunday’s class spoke a lot about meditation and Martin recommended a book to the whole class.  So God is trying to guide me in it!  Oh and I’ve been doing pushups like crazy!  I really want to be able to do 10 pushups in a row, and I’ve also always wanted to be able to run.  I am terrible at both but can already see myself improving! 

Alright.  Now you need to keep me accountable.  I did well last week, but indulged twice in dessert because of a special occasion, and then broke my jogging/walking routine by going to Vancouver, as well as prayer/meditation/study.

Tomorrow I am getting back on track. 

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Healthy Mind, Body & Spirit Campaign: Spring 2008

  1. Bethany

    that’s so exciting chelsey!! if you need it, i can help you keep on track! maybe we could even go running together!!;)

  2. kelli

    this is neat. i am proud of you for taking action. you inspire me. i love you.

  3. Shantala

    Yay for you! Its always good to have a plan of action. Even if you deviate a little, the plan helps you steer in the right direction. I too am learning to run again. Its tough sometimes to get my butt out to do the run… but it always feels worth the huffing and puffing after! God bless you as you grow in Him!
    Shantala

  4. mom from Regina

    You go girl! You have encouraged me to stay convicted to daily time for God. I will help you if you will help me! Hope the buns turned out great! Love you so much, Mom from Regina!

  5. Kristen

    What a great game plan, good luck!!

  6. Jessie

    good for you chelsey! it will feel so great when you reach your goals, so don’t give up and don’t get down on yourself when you stumble a bit.

    on a strange and unrelated note, today i got home from my first work day and i went to the bathroom and washed my hands (ok, nothing new there). but the handsoap my roomate had bought while i was away smelled strangely familiar and altogether wonderful. i saw it was orange and i immediately asked her what it was and where she got it. turns out my intuition was correct and it was the same kind you and peter were using in your bathroom (orange jasmine flower or something) when i came to visit. i remember i looked for it all over when i got home from vic but couldn’t find it in stores and had sort of forgotten about it. now all i have to do is wash my hands and you’re instantly on my mind!

Leave a Reply

