Life + the letter to the Ephesians

This morning at Moms and Tots I had a good conversation with a new friend.  She asked me about how I came to believe in God and I shared with her.  I was inspired by recalling the things that God has done in my life and how He brought Peter and I together, and so the first chance I got (AKA, as soon as Eva went to sleep) I decided to pray and revisit my favourite letter, the letter to the Ephesians.

ephesians

Now I’m inspired and excited.  Like heart-in-your-throat-kinda-hard-to-breath excited.  I know the letter is to the Ephesians, but when I put myself into the text, I really connected to what Paul was saying.

After a whole life of wandering around,
                  doing what I felt like doing when I felt like doing it,
God (immense in mercy and with an incredible love)

                              EMBRACED ME

and took my sin-dead “life” and made me alive in Christ.

I remember hearing my teachers talk about Christ being seated at the right hand of the Father when I was a little girl at St. Mary’s Catholic school (I went for Kindergarten and Grade One).  In my five- or six-year-old mind I pictured this huge God with a huge hand and Jesus was just sitting in his hand, his legs dangling, feet swinging.  It was a good place to  be.   I just realized today that I should picture myself sitting there beside Jesus because God “picked me up and set me down in highest heaven in company with Jesus, my Messiah” (Eph. 2:6).

If you aren’t excited about that, maybe you should read it again because I kind of feel like running around screaming when I think about that and understand what it means.  And then you should go on to read the rest of this post (most of it is taken from Ephesians (MSG), with my emphasis and changing of some words…).

“It was only yesterday that I was an 
OUTSIDER        and had      NO IDEA
of any of this,
didn’t know the first thing about 
the way God works,
hadn’t the faintest idea 
of Christ. 
I knew nothing
of that rich history of God’s
covenants and promises in Israel,
hadn’t a clue
about what God was doing
in the world at large

AND NOW…
because of  Christ
dying that death,
shedding that blood —
I, who was once
out of it
altogether,
am in on
everything.

When I first came to believe, I truly felt like God had whispered to me a secret.  And this secret allowed me to see what I hadn’t seen before and what most of the world still couldn’t.

Now
I am no longer a
wandering exile.
This kingdom of faith
is now my
home country.
I am no longer a
stranger
or
outsider.
I BELONG HERE
with as much
right to the name
Christian
as ANYONE.

God is building
a home.
He is using
us all
IRRESPECTIVE
of how we got here
in what he is
building.
He used the apostles
and prophets
for the foundation.
Now he’s using
me,
fitting me in
brick by brick,
stone by stone,
with CHRIST JESUS
as the
cornerstone
that holds
all the parts
together.

Now I can see for myself into the mystery of Christ.  The mystery is that people who have never heard of God AND those who have heard of him all their lives (outsiders and insiders) stand ON THE SAME GROUND before God.

They get:
the same offer
the same help
the same promises

in Christ Jesus.

“God can do anything, you know — far more than you could ever imagine or guess or request in your wildest dreams!  He does it not by pushing us around BUT by working within us, his Spirit deeply and gently within us.”

 

Me?  Little old me?  Stupid, selfish me?  Me who did all those things?  Me who thinks only about myself? 
Me.  In on everything.  Seated with Christ.  ABUNDANTLY FREE.  Kingdom of faith MY home?  Adopted by God?  ME?!

Yep.  Heart in throat.

8 Comments

Filed under Posts by Chelsey, spirituality

8 responses to “Life + the letter to the Ephesians

  1. Chelsey- I sit and read this post and bawl. How I needed to be reminded of these verses! The wisdom you display is amazing to me. Thank you thank you. I love you even more! Thanks for a great conversation yesterday.

  2. nicely said, chels. thanks for that.

  3. Mom & Grandma Kim

    Thank you dear Chelsey~! How inspiring!! I needed to hear just that. I love the way you write, your honesty and clarity. I love you dear child and thank you!

  4. Beautifully reflected on, Chelsey. And then, well shared too!

  5. Mom

    Thanks for directing my heart and lifting my soul and inspiring my spirit. I love you Chelsey Roberts!

  6. Kelly Carter

    Whoa! Who is this person that has entered not just “our church” or my family’s life but has entered my life? Someone with a Catholic background, like me. Someone totally transformed by the goodness of Christ, like me. Someone with profound thoughts and the ability to share them not just graphically through photos, but also through poetry and prose, rather unlike me. This blessed me. I hope I see you in a few hours so that I can tell you in person how much you are appreciated, while the blessing I have received is still fresh!

  7. Trinda

    You are so poetic, especially when you speak such a beautiful truth. You are brilliant and I am glad you shared it with everyone. I feel…INSPIRED!! Truly! Thank you!

  8. Pingback: Entering Ephesians (1:3-14) « Wandering & Wondering

Leave a Reply

