Rhythms of Grace – 1/28

I am all done my photos!  Yay!

In honour of this great accomplishment, I am planning to write a blog every day for the month of February.  February is a good month to decide to do something like that because it is only 28 days.  I remember Jason’s 30 Blogs in 30 Days that he did a little while back and I am so relieved to have 2 less days than he did.  Phew!

These February writings will focus on something positive from each day.  I hope that both you and I will be encouraged.

================================================================================

February 1 –

Today on the way to church I listened to an old CD:  Everclear – So Much for the Afterglow.  I used to love this CD when I was in Grade 10.  It is amazing to me how music can instantly transport you to another place, another time, and you can feel the same feelings you felt back in that time and place.  This morning as I was listening I thought about how I would likely be better set into a worshipful mood if I were listening to a Christian artist. but I didn’t want to listen to a Christian artist, so I kept listening to Art Alexakis (that’s right I know his name) sing about his history with drugs and his broken home.  I thought about my Grade 10 state of mind and what I was dealing with at the time and I thought about where I am today.  I started to feel so happy and excited and before I knew it I really couldn’t wait to get to church to sing praise to my God who brought me so near to Him.  I couldn’t wait to hear Kelly’s message about how to be Jesus in your circles of influence and I couldn’t wait to live that message out. 

Jesus is just so sweet.  I don’t mean sweet as sugar, or so precious, I mean he rocks.  He’s after mercy, not religion.  He cares about people who are lost, hurt, confused, sick, dead, untouchable, contrary to public opinion, and he tells us to live that way too! 

“Walk with me and work with me — watch how I do it.  Learn the unforced rhythms of grace.  I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you.  Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.” Matthew 11:30 MSG.

2 Comments

Filed under february 2009 challenge, Posts by Chelsey, spirituality

2 responses to “Rhythms of Grace – 1/28

  1. kelli

    this is a fabulous idea.

  2. i love that cd. i just started listening to it again recently, to.

    screw christian artists. jk. but seriously, i have issues with worship music, and i find that some of my most worshipful moments are listening to some very secular artists. cool story.

Leave a Reply

