Recovery

source

When I came home from the hospital I was weak and exhausted from my brief bout with labour.  I was constantly drinking water and eating nourishing, healthy foods to heal and strengthen me.  Besides Ezra, my life revolved around resting as much as I could and keeping my body hydrated and full of good food.

As I started to feel better, I slowly started eating some junk food.  Some coke, a little chocolate, a #2 combo from McDonald’s.  Now I’m finding that I’m having a hard time remembering or even wanting to drink water, and sometimes I don’t even eat my fruit.  I’d rather have junk.

I think that I do this with my spirituality also.  When I think back to the very beginning of my recovery from my sin-sick life, I was totally worn out and clinging to the living water and the nourishment that comes from a relationship with God through prayer and being in His word.  It was all I wanted to do and I knew that I needed it.

As time has gone on though, I have slowly let other things take the place of my prayer and reading time.  These “other things” may be enjoyable and may seem harmless, but they are junk compared to spending dedicated time with my Father.  Sometimes it even gets to the point where if I’m being 100% honest, I don’t even want to spend that time with Him, I’d rather participate in the meaningless.

So I’m re-dedicating myself to my health, both physical and spiritual.

“Be very careful, then, how you live—not as unwise but as wise, making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil. Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the Lord’s will is.” – Ephesians 5:15-17

3 Comments

Filed under Posts by Chelsey, spirituality

3 responses to “Recovery

  1. Kim Bye

    Well put my dear…and oh how true for me too! Why is it this way??? It’s so very easy to stray from the good, or everything that is good…much easier to be lazy, selfish and indulgent. How funny though, as soon as I’m in trouble he’s the first I ask…no… beg for help. I have to break the habit of always looking for the easier, softer way. He never said it would be easy, he just said that it would be worth it! Amen
    p.s. thanks Chels, I needed to hear that

  2. This is the passage, that I needed right now.
    Thank you!

  3. i’m very much in a similar place right now. minus the pregnancy part. but i feel like i’ve slowly allowed things to become more important in my life than my relationship with God. and it’s sucking the life out of me, even though i’ve fooled myself into believing i’m just fine. i’m tired of pretending and substituting. thanks for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

