A Million Miles in a Thousand Years – Book Review

Speaking of stories, here is a review of Donald Miller’s most recent book, “A Million Miles in A Thousand Years“.

I am a long time Donald Miller fan, since I read “Blue Like Jazz” (which, by the way, you should read; in my opinion, it is prerequisite to A Million Miles) and I jumped at the chance to get a free copy of “A Million Miles in A Thousand Years” from Booksneeze.

I am the kind of girl who doesn’t like to know many details of books or movies before I have the chance to have to read or view them myself.  I like to have a totally unbiased experience, and so I did not read the back of this book or know anything about it when I dove in.  In a way, I was a bit confused about why Miller was talking so much about creating the screenplay for “Blue Like Jazz”, but soon it started to make a lot of sense — and have a tremendous impact on my heart.

Miller essentially takes you through the process of editing a book for the screen, to tell the best story and then parallels that with how we live our lives.  How can we tell the best story with the life that we are living?  What kind of story are we creating?  What kind of story are we allowing God to write for us?

I found this book to be very encouraging and definitely recommend it.  Do I want my life story to be that I checked Facebook every 10 minutes or do I want to be living a real life, with real stories, engaging with characters?  Every so often I do a little reality check and refer back to “A Million Miles in A Thousand Years”.  What story am I telling with this day, with my life?  It will encourage you in every role you play in your life, no matter how varied the role.

What is your story about?

 

Also, check out:
+ Donald Miller’s blog
+ Buy “A Million Miles in A Thousand Years
+ Buy “Blue Like Jazz
+ Blue Like Jazz: The Movie

Leave a comment

Filed under books

Leave a Reply

