Fresh-Brewed Life – Book Review

Being a coffee lover (well, latte lover) I was drawn to “Fresh Brewed Life” based on its title.  Author, Nicole Johnson, offers women “a stirring invitation to wake up your soul”.  That sounded good to me too.  I was really excited for this book and I’m not really sure what I was expecting, but I didn’t love it.  Johnson takes the reader through ten chapters to encourage them to “wake up and smell the coffee”, and while I did find encouragement in her words, I felt that the chapters ran on too long after the point had already been made.  I loved that Johnson encouraged journalling so much, because I 100% agree with her and feel that journalling is so important to understanding so many things about ourselves and keeps a record of what God is doing and how He is working in our lives, but I didn’t love the other adventures or exercises that she recommended and eventually just skipped reading them.

This book isn’t terrible, and I suspect a lot of people would really enjoy it.  In fact, many people gave this book a 5/5!  For some reason or another, it just wasn’t one that I absolutely loved, so I guess it just wasn’t my cup of tea.

 

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under books

Leave a Reply

