Close Enough to Hear God Breathe – Book Review

I needed this book.  The title grabbed me instantly, as I imagined myself so close to my Father, my head against his chest, listening to Him draw in and exhale out.  There have been many times in my life where I have felt so overwhelmed and all I wanted in those moments was to crawl up on my mama’s lap and have her comfort me.  Now that I am an adult, that just seems silly, so I plow forward, telling myself to suck it up and keep going.  Many times I have even felt as though God shouldn’t be bothered with whatever it is that’s upsetting me, and that even He needs me to just be stronger and do what needs to be done.

In “Close Enough to Hear God Breathe“, author Greg Paul reminds me of the relationship that we have with God, that of Father and Child.  Through personal stories tied in with scripture and biblical stories, Paul reminds me that God loves me and thinks of me tenderly, just as (or even more-so!) I think of my own children.  Each of the ten chapters reminded me that God loves me and is there for me.  Each chapter invited me to climb up onto my Father’s lap, rest my head on his chest and listen to Him breathing.

A favourite chapter was chapter six, entitled “Hammer and Nails”.  Paul describes a time where he was renovating his house and his son, who was five-years-old, wanted to help.  Paul gave his son a hammer suitable for a child and let him pound nails into boards, while Paul himself worked on the renovation.  Paul’s son was so interested and so intent on his “work”, and while they weren’t exactly productive, it was such a pleasure for Paul to share these things with his son.  Paul goes on in the chapter to parallel this story to God letting us help Him with his work, and how we are like children compared to how God would do things.  This chapter opened my eyes to the importance of letting my children help with things, even if it takes longer, and imparting to them the grace that my own Father gives to me.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and recommend it to anyone out there looking for a more intimate relationship with their Father.

Book has been provided courtesy of Thomas Nelson and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.
Available at your favourite bookseller from Thomas Nelson.

1 Comment

Filed under books

One response to “Close Enough to Hear God Breathe – Book Review

  1. This makes me think of a song lyric that has brought me comfort recently … and reminds me just how much He longs to be near to me. The song is ‘Little Light’, sung by Matt Hammitt and Audrey Assad.

    Jesus bends to hear you breathe
    And His tender hands are holding you tonight
    And His heart is ravished when you look, when you look at Him
    And oh, the endless mercy in His eyes

Leave a Reply

